Boards and Commissions

Sandy Springs Boards, Commissions and Committees

Board of Appeals

The Board of Appeals (formerly known as Board of Zoning Appeals) is a quasi-legal board charged with hearing requests for variances from regulations of the Zoning Ordinance. The board bases decisions on the merits of applications with strict adherence to specific factors.

Board Members:
Ruth Coan, Chair
Paul Reale, Vice Chair
Ron Carpinella
Ted Sandler
Ken Moller
Alvin Johnson
Eric Johnson

Planning Commission

The Planning Commission is an advisory board which reports its findings and recommendations to the Mayor and City Council. The board is involved in hearings involving rezonings, use permits, concurrent variances, and changes to zoning maps and ordinances.

Commission Members:
Lee Duncan, Chair
Susan Maziar
Al Pond
David Rubenstein
Steve Tart
Lane Frostbaum
Jim Squire

Economic Development Advisory Committee

The Economic Development Advisory Committee is composed of community and business leaders that provide feedback to the city regarding Economic Development.  The overarching purpose of economic development in the City is to sustain and further the attractive quality of life enjoyed by its citizens.  This purpose will be achieved through the accomplishment of two interdependent objectives:

  • Preservation and creation of neighborhoods that provide an environment for the security and enjoyment of families and individuals.
  • Retention, expansion and attraction of businesses that result in a diverse economic base and the prosperity necessary to provide quality jobs, enhanced property values and stable communities.

Committee Members:
Chris Burnett, Cornerstone Bank
Pat Chesser, Ackerman and Company
Jim Comerford, Proscenium Capital
Eric deGroot, Holland America Chamber
Mark Hackner, FOG Capital
Allan Herrick, Sapient Atlanta
Graham McDonold, O'Daniel McDonold, LLC
Kevin Moyer, KAM Asset Management
Charlie Roberts Roberts, Properties, Inc.
Dr. Josephine Tan, Georgia Power
Dan DiLuzio, DiLuzio and Henssler
Tom Miller, Newmark Grubb Knight Frank
Tom Mahaffey, Sandy Springs Perimeter Chamber

Board of Ethics

The Board of Ethics determines whether a violation of the City's Ethics Ordinance has occurred and, if so, assess and imposes the appropriate penalty. The Board consists of five members and two alternates. Each board member and alternate is required to have been a resident of the Sandy Springs for at least one year immediately preceding the date of taking office and is required to remain a resident of the Sandy Springs while serving.

Board Members:
Kevin King, Chair
Stuart Steinmark, Vice Chair
Ted Sandler
David Price
Cindy Johnson
Lorrie Mell, first alternate
David Baker, second alternate

Sandy Springs Foundation Board

The Foundation seeks support from private citizens, local organizations and corporations as well as local, state and national foundations to deliver services needed in the City, including promoting public recreation programs and senior/youth centers, enhancing public safety, providing avenues for citizen involvement as volunteers and educating the public on community issues.

Volunteering for a Board, Commission or Committee Role

If you would like to apply for membership on a Sandy Springs board, commission or committee, please complete the following form:


Which of the following are you interested in volunteering for? (check all that apply)


Attach your resume:

 Security code

If your application is selected, a you will be contacted for further information.